5 “deans” at Berlage Institute

The Berlage Institute announce the installation of a new Research Board to set the future course of the postgraduate laboratory of architecture. This Research Board is composed of five established figures in the world of architecture and urbanism: Ben van Berkel (cofounder UN Studio), Winy Maas (Cofounder MVRDV), Robert E. Somol (architecture theorist), Alejandro Zaera Polo (partner FAO) and Elia Zenghelis (architect).

With the ending of Alejandro Zaera Polo’s term as dean, a new and diverse leadership structure is chosen to steer the content of the Berlage Institute. This change in structure is reflective of the wide-ranged research character the institute has acquired under Zaera Polo’s deanship. The Research Board is responsible for setting the general course and profile of the institute and identifying new insights and fields of research. Furthermore, the members of the Research Board will be personally engaged in one or more components of the program. Vedran Mimica is named Director and will be responsible for the management of the postgraduate program and the implementation of strategic advice provided by the Research Board.