SANAA wins the Pritzker

Kazuyo Sejima and Ryue Nishizawa, partners in the architectural
firm, SANAA, have been chosen as the 2010 Laureates of the Pritzker Architecture Prize.

Ryue Nishizawa and Kazuyo Sejima Photo by Takashi Okamoto, Courtesy of SANAA

The purpose of the Pritzker Architecture Prize is to honor annually a living architect whose built work demonstrates a combination of those qualities of talent, vision and commitment, which has produced consistent and significant contributions to humanity and the built environment through the art of architecture. Pritzker Prize jury chairman, The Lord Palumbo quoted from the jury citation to focus on this year’s selection: “For architecture that is simultaneously delicate and powerful,precise and fluid, ingenious but not overly or overtly clever; for the creation of buildings that successfully interact with their contexts and the activities they contain, creating a sense of fullness and experiential richness; for a singular architectural language that springs from a collaborative process that is both unique and inspirational; for their notable completed buildings and the promise of new projects together, Kazuyo Sejima and Ryue Nishizawa are the recipients of the 2010 Pritzker Architecture Prize.” In the Netherlands they realised The De Kunstline Theater and Cultural Center in Almere.
Kazuyo Sejima is also director of the 12th International Architecture Exhibition in 2010