The winners of the Archiprix International / Hunter Douglas Awards are…..

The chairman of the jury, Yung Ho Chang announced the winners during the Award ceremony in New York in a packed Guggenheim with more than 450 guest on June 9th 2011.

The winners from left to right: Nicholas Adam Szczepaniak, Gijs Adriaansens, Simone Pizzagalli, Jonathan Enns, Ruann van der Westhuizen, Veronica Rusca, Maurizio Pizzocro, Lorenzo Trompetto, Craig Johnston, Mira Henry (w/o Molly Hunker).

Archiprix International is an international network for young, talented architects throughout the world. Biennially we invite all 1400 universities worldwide to select and submit their best graduation projects. For the 2011 edition held in the United States of America Archiprix International received over 300 projects from 70 countries, a new record number. The jury Yung Ho Chang (Atelier FJCZ and former Dean of the Architecture Department of the MIT), Kapil Gupta (Serie Architects), Xiangning (Sean) Li (Tongi University and director of the Museum of Architecture Shanghai), and Ralph Nelson (LOOM), reviewed all submitted projects and nominated 24 projects for an award. Out of these nominees they selected 8 winners.
According to the jury:" The winning projects are related to the DNA of recognizable architects or architectural styles, but they are another evolutionary step beyond that DNA, and stand out because of the authentic voice of the individual designers and the clear positions they take. They are all very powerful projects and go beyond style. What they have in common is poetics".

The winner of the Hunter Douglas Awards are: (in alphabetical order)
 Amsterdam Alphabet Gijs Adriaansens – Eindhoven University of Technology, Faculty of Architecture, Building and Planning, Eindhoven the Netherlands
  A Defensive Architecture Nicholas Adam Szczepaniak – The University of Westminster, School of Architecture and the Built Environment, London England
  National Apiological Network: An Illustrated History Craig Johnston – University of Strathclyde, Department of Architecture,Glasgow Scotland
  The New 'Non-Standard' Jonathan Enns – Princeton University, School of Architecture, Princeton United States
  A Public Bathhouse Ruann van der Westhuizen – University of Pretoria, Faculty of Engineering, Built Environment and Information Technology, Pretoria South Africa
  Spaces, Poetics and Voids Simone Pizzagalli – Delft University of Technology, Faculty of Architecture, Delft the Netherlands
  Urban Upholstery Molly Hunker, Mira Henry – University of California, Department of Architecture and Urban Design, Los Angeles United States
 You are Here Lorenzo Trompetto, Veronica Rusca, Maurizio Pizzocro – Università di Genova, Facoltà di Architettura, Genoa Italy