Peter Russell new dean of the Faculty of Architecture and the Built Environment TUD

After a international recruitment process, the Executive Board has appointed Peter Russell as dean of TU Delft’s Faculty of Architecture and the Built Environment effective 1 May 2015.

Peter Russell

Peter Russell is currently Professor of Computer Supported Planning in Architecture (CAAD) at the RWTH Aachen University. He also serves as Rector's Emissary for Alumni Affairs at the RWTH where he has been Dean of the Faculty of Architecture and chaired the Dean's Council. He is a partner in architectural practice IP Arch GmbH and serves as vice-chairman of the German Architecture Dean's Council (DARL). From 2012 to 2013 he served on the Council of the Association for European Education in Architecture (AEEA/EAAE). He is also a founding member of the newly formed European architectural research network ARENA.

Russell holds a bachelor in Environmental Design Studies from the Technical University of Nova Scotia, where he also obtained a master’s degree in Architecture. His research encompasses Building Information Modelling, Intelligent Buildings and Ambient Assisted Living. He is no stranger to TU Delft: in 2010  he chaired the Research Evaluation Committee for Architecture and Urban Planning in the Netherlands, which undertook a combined assessment of the research programmes and institutes at TU/e and TU Delft. He was also part of the Organising Committee for the Solar Decathlon Europe 2014, where TU Delft’s 'Prêt-à-Loger' came third.

The Executive Board is very happy with this latest appointment. “We believe that Peter Russell’s international experience fits extremely well with the Faculty’s global outlook. Moreover, his ample expertise in building intelligence and building information interfaces matches well with our research into intelligent cities”, says Rector Magnificus Karel Luyben.
Peter Russell succeeds Karin Laglas, who left TU Delft in the middle of 2014. The Board would like to express their heartfelt appreciation to professor Hans Wamelink for the commitment he has shown during his period as acting dean.