Living Places – Simon Architecture Prize 2018

The “Living places” awards is an initiative created by Simon on its 100th anniversary, and is endorsed and advised by the Mies van der Rohe Foundation.

The contest is open to all works completed and put into use between January 1, 2016 and December 31, 2017 and built on European and Mexican territories.

Who may submit works?
The architects, urban planners and/or landscape architects responsible for the works, regardless of nationality and country of residence. They may present their works either individually or as a team.

Who may propose works?
The Architects responsible for the works, collaborators, friends, residents (any citizen) or clients.

Inscription for and participation in the Simon Architecture Prize are entirely free of charge.

Prize methodology:
The focus on the inhabitant is reflected in the Prize methodology. The VIDEO, considered to be an instrument to bring architecture closer to the public in general and to convey the atmosphere of the place, is the main document to be submitted.

Categories and prize:
Collective places and Personal places are the two categories of the prize, each of which is worth 10,000 EUR for the winning works.

Deadline for registrations: September 30
Deadline for submissions: October 10
Jury meeting: October 26
Granting Ceremony: November 28 at Espacio Simon 100 (Barcelona, Spain)

This new edition once again features an internationally renowned jury: Davide Rapp (Milan), architect and videomaker, Cecilia Tham (Hong Kong, Barcelona), founder of the MOB Makers of Barcelona creative community; Ricardo Flores (Buenos Aires, Barcelona), from the Flores&Prats Arquitectos studio, one of the winners of the previous edition of Living Places; Frida Escobedo (México), founder of Taller de Arquitectura, who has just designed the Serpentine Gallery in London; and finally, Salvi Plaja, Design Director of the Simon Group.

The goal of this prize is to highlight those architecture projects (including indoors, public spaces and landscaping) whose excellence enhances the ability of the spaces to promote the comfort of its inhabitants. Architectures that turn into higher quality spaces for people in their day-to-day lives: to work, to learn, to wait, to play… Architectures to live in.

Although the prizes focus on Europe, this year’s scope has been expanded to include Mexico.

In the initial 2016 edition, a total of 104 works, constructed in 16 European countries, were nominated. The winners that year were the French firm Lacaton&Vassal, in the Personal Places category for its project to transform 530 homes in Bordeaux (France). In the Collective Places category, the prize went to the Flores&Prats architecture firm for the Sala Beckett in Barcelona (Spain).

The videos submitted in the first edition are available on this channel.

Meer info - more information